How do I recognise gluten-free food?
The new EU guideline for food labelling has made it easier to recognise the so-called “risky” food items. According to this guideline food producers must indicate if gluten is contained in a food item, even if only slight traces of it. The conscious or unconscious intake of food containing gluten often does not lead to any noteworthy symptoms, however, in the long run it can lead to further damages to the intestinal mucosa. It is therefore important always to pay attention when choosing food items or when eating, without however getting into a panic at the thought of gluten or feeling psychologically traumatised – these behaviours are completely unjustified.
Harmless food items
There are lots of products which by nature are gluten-free and harmless: rice, maize, potatoes, pulses, buckwheat, tapioca, chestnuts, milk and milk products, meat, fish, eggs, vegetable oils, fruit and vegetables. And there are also numerous products especially produced for those affected by coeliac disease (bread, pasta, cake, pizza crusts, flour, biscuits, sweets, frozen food). These special products are recognisable through the symbol of the crossed-out wheat ear.
This symbol guarantees that the product is gluten-free.
Risky food items
Risky are those food items which could contain gluten or wheat as an ingredient or additive. For example ready-made meals, sausages, soya sauces, ice cream. With these products it is very important to read the list of ingredients on the packaging very carefully. Risky are also those food items which may have been contaminated with gluten during the production process.
All food containing wheat, spelt, kamut, triticale, barley or rye are forbidden.
With the help of our chart you can get an overview of the food items which you can eat without hesitation, those where you have to pay attention and those which are absolutely forbidden.